Librarian, Interrupted

It’s been one of those days here at the library.  It hasn’t been as insanely busy as it is in the beginning of the school year when students are pumped up about being back to school and they have 100 questions about their new assignments.  No, this is one of those days when I can have no one in front of me for fifteen minutes and the moment the phone rings, three people walk up to the reference desk and the other two librarians are busy with other questions.  It’s feast or famine sometimes.

One of my phone conversations was very interesting.  The caller wanted to know the current address of the Duke and Duchess of Windsor.  They’ve both been dead for quite some time now… guess I could have given her the address to the cemetery where they’re buried but I thought that would be unhelpful.  My other favorite phone call was from a woman who wanted an original copy of the Bible.  Needless to say, I couldn’t help her with that one but she did provide me with entertainment for the morning.

Leave a Reply

