My Bucket List

Today at church both of the pastors broke out their guitars and played.  Wow.  I’ve always wanted to learn to play the guitar, but I’ve spent the last fifteen+ years raising children, a dog, and a husband as well as working.  There hasn’t been much time to do other things like take music lessons.  I’m not feeling sorry for myself, nor do I want any sympathy because I wouldn’t have wanted things any other way.

That all being said, sometimes I think about goals that I’d like to accomplish.  For the record, here’s my “bucket list” or things that I want to do before I die (not necessarily in order).

  • Learn how to do math (not just reconciling my checkbook – something more complex like algebra because I didn’t do so hot the first time around),
  • Learn to play guitar,
  • Visit Mont St. Michel in Normandy, France,
  • Finish making my kids’ scrapbooks,
  • Become a library manager,
  • Visit Canada, all the way from Nova Scotia to Lake Victoria,
  • Become proficient in HTML,
  • Volunteer at a soup kitchen on a regular basis,
  • Learn how to groom my dog,
  • Learn how to make my dog stop chasing cars,
  • Learn how to change a tire,
  • Make a pie crust from scratch
  • Become a genealogist.

I’m sure there’s more, but that’s it for now.  I have to go grocery shopping and weed my gardens today.  Guess I’ve got to take care of business before I tackle my lofty goals.  That’s okay – I’ve got a lifetime to check them off. 

Leave a Reply

