If You Want Something Done Right, Don’t Ask Your Kids

Yesterday I asked Teenage Daughter to water my garden for me.  This morning I went out to water it again and found that the hose was left on all night.  UGH.  So, I asked her if she realized that she left the hose on all night (knowing full well what the answer would be).   Her answer was, “Oh, I thought I turned it off – is that a problem?”

Yes, that was a problem, but the bigger problem is that I need to supervise every chore my kids do lately.  If I don’t check back on what I’ve asked them to do, I find that it’s either half-assed or not done at all.  Honestly, I’m not a control freak, but if I’ve got to redo what they’ve done, it’s not worth my time to ask them.

On the other hand, I am aware that there are ramifications for raising kids who don’t contribute at all by not doing any chores.  I don’t want my kids to think that they are not expected to do anything in life.  If our ultimate goal is to raise responsible adults, I wouldn’t be doing them any favors. 

I suppose that I could consult a parenting book on this, but I think that there’s a special place in hell for parenting books.  I really can’t stand them.  I’d rather know what others have to say on this vital topic.  Please feel free to comment.

4 thoughts on “If You Want Something Done Right, Don’t Ask Your Kids

  1. Our children were recently trying to negotiate chores with us. In fact, one offered to pay us a dime if we’d simply rotate her old boring chore out and give her a new one…because we all know that sweeping under the table once a month when we actually remember to make them (OK, that’s probably an exaggeration, but you know what I mean.) Every time I ask one of my children to carry something in from the car, you would swear they were recovering from hernia surgery the way that they exaggeratedly hunch over and carry whatever burden they’ve been asked to bear!

  2. I realize part of my sentence made no sense…what I meant to say is that we all know that sweeping under the table is pure torture.

Leave a Reply

