Driving While Distracted

A funny thing happened on the way to work tonight.  I was waiting for a little girl riding her bike to pass on the sidewalk while I was backing out.  I was paying attention to her and not where I was going and I creamed the whiskey barrel that was on the lawn at the end of my driveway.  I really took it out totally, dirt and all.  I didn’t really like it anymore anyhow and I was planning on getting rid of it next year.  Guess it met its demise a year early. 

Made me realize how often I’m NOT paying attention while I’m driving.  I am usually on autopilot and I don’t even have to think twice about where I’m going.  I’m also listening to my kids argue or tell me something that absolutely cannot wait.  It’s probably not a good thing. 

Then again, I’m certainly in good company.  Raise your hand if you’ve ever used your cell phone while driving.  Uh-huh, that’s what I thought…  Okay, put them down.  How about applied mascara while driving?  THAT MANY OF YOU?  Wow!  Here’s one for you – text messaging while driving!  Yeah, no one is going to admit to one that but I see people driving all the time while doing it.     

A few years I backed into our mailbox.  My husband was incredulous.  “You’ve got to be kidding me!”, he said.  “Didn’t you hear the backup signal going off?”  I admitted that no, I hadn’t – it went off so much that I had stopped paying attention to it.  I just made sure no child or animal was behind me and then I would just continue on my way.  

Wonder if this is related to my adult onset ADD?