If You Blog It, They Will Come

I was reading an article regarding “how to increase your blog stats” yesterday.  I didn’t realize that there was a contest going on for blog stats, but I read along anyhow.  It gave suggestions such as subscribing to several blog sites, telling all of your friends and family and tucking notes in Christmas cards with your web address (just kidding – that was my suggestion).   I suppose that I could do all of the things that they suggested to raise my popularity level, but I think that the answer is in blog content. 

What do I mean by that?  Well, it appears that two types of blogs are mainly featured on the WordPress web page as being “hawt”.  The first are political blogs and the second are true crime blogs.  That means that if I were to blog about what a bunch of liars Republicans and Democrats are or discuss what really happened to some missing person, I would probably get more hits.  Yuck.

I hate to disappoint any of my faithful readers, but it’s not going to happen here.  I would much rather discuss my shortcomings, suburban family life and what really goes on in a library.  As the election gets closer, I *might* give my $.02 about something or someone who is really getting on my nerves, but I don’t think that I’m going to become anything close to political.  And I REALLY DON’T want to talk about missing children because it upsets me.

I just wanted to let you all know how much fun I have reading your comments and thank you for stopping by.  I may never be a hugely popular blogger but so what?  This is way cheaper than therapy.

One thought on “If You Blog It, They Will Come

  1. Hmm, I was just speaking to a friend last night who has a very popular (political) blog. She said that Tuesday-Wednesday-Thursday time frame will always generate the most hits. I have not found that to be true. I see spikes in readership on one or two days a week, usually about 6 to 7 days apart. Which makes me wonder if I’m only witty every 6th or 7th day. If that’s the case, I’m doomed. 😉

Leave a Reply

