It’s My Birthday and I’ll Blog If I Want To…

So, guess what?  I’m 42 today.

Did you ever think about what you expected your life to be like when you were a certain age?  You know, what you envisioned your life to turn out to be?

I used to do that.  I would think about what sort of family I would have, where I would live, and what I would do for a living.  I would even wonder if I would have any pets. 

The sad thing is that I used to consider a person in their 40’s to be OLD.  Middle aged, washed up, thinking about retirement, gray, slowing down, Geritol.

Ironically, I’m too busy living my middle aged life to think about my age or worry about what I’ll be doing in the future.  That’s not to say that I don’t ever think about what I’m going to do when I grow up, I just don’t get time to contemplate it for too long.  Plus, I don’t ever feel middle aged (isn’t that a depressing term?) unless I don’t get enough sleep. 

So, here’s to *at least* 42 more years.  Maybe I’ll be able to do math by that time…

4 thoughts on “It’s My Birthday and I’ll Blog If I Want To…

  1. Happy Birthday!! 42 is an awesome age (it’s the answer to everything, after all). Karl’s been enjoying 42 since June and reports that it’s a Very Good Year so far. 🙂

    I hope you can treat yourself to something special today!

  2. Happy Birthday to my favorite librarian and blogger. Here’s to growing old together.

    Daddio

    P.S. Are you making dinner tonight or should I pick up McDonalds?

  3. Happy Birthday Amy!!!! Your card is in the mail (seriously). The 40’s are not so bad except for the extra hair color (cover gray),more excersize and no more 1# bag of peanut M&Ms – the immediate go to the hips!

    Love your blog, I checked out the family pics too. Everyone is getting so big.

    Lets catch up soon!
    Have a grat day! Daddio is picking up dinner right?
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

