Bragging Rights

Okay, so one of my pet peeves is about parents who brag incessantly about their offspring.  I’m not saying that one shouldn’t be proud of their kids – you certainly should and I also think that kids need warm fuzzies and pats on the back for a job well done.  I think it’s just part of my Midwestern upbringing that says, “Thou shalt not brag or draw excessive attention to oneself.”

That all being said, I’ve got to share that Eldest Son was chosen as a student of the month at his high school.  That really means a lot to me and I know my husband was proud too.  Eldest Son tried to play it off by telling me last week, “Oh, and by the way, I think I was chosen as a student of the month or something like that.  Not sure.”  Then I received the “official” letter yesterday. 

Eldest Son has come a long way.  He started out as a jaundiced, premature baby who was less than five pounds when we brought him home from the hospital.  He’s always been a bright, curious boy whose obstinance and boundless energy got him into some trouble early on.  Luckily, he’s turned out to be a great teenager who I actually enjoy very much.  I don’t think that all parents can say that about their adolescents.

Now, he’s a sophomore and thinking seriously about where he’d like to attend college.  Chokes me right up.

Thanks for listening to me gush.  I’ll be back to my sarcastic, regularly scheduled programming tomorrow.

(Oh, by the way… I know that you read my blog, Teenage Daughter.  I’m darn proud of you too.)

6 thoughts on “Bragging Rights

  1. applause! applause! applause!

    aren’t teenagers great? i mean, really, they are. moody and so on at times, but really, it’s so nice to read that your kids are awesome teenagers.

    i don’t mind the bragging one tiny bit. just don’t make it a habit, okay? 😉

  2. I remember when you were worried about the high school transition–and look how fabulously it turned out! And even if it was he who receieved the award, it’s nice affirmation that you have done things “right’! 🙂 Yay! Tell him I said congrats.

Leave a Reply

