Weighing In

So, I’ve been pretty busy lately trying not to undo my surgery.  My biggest restriction is that I can lift no more than 10 pounds for the next 8 weeks. 

That doesn’t sound too bad, does it?  I mean, 10 pounds sounds like a lot of weight.  Well here is where you get to feel good about how much you lug around all day.  I’ve been weighing things around my house and here’s just a sampling of what I’ve discovered…

My purse – 5 pounds (and this is without half of the junk I normally carry around)
A liter of pop – 5 pounds
A gallon of milk – around 8 pounds
A carton of orange juice – around 4 pounds
A basket of clothes – varies, but it’s anywhere from 7 to 20 pounds, depending on how full I make it
A bottle of Tide  – around 6 pounds
A six quart stock pot (not filled with water) – 3 pounds
A stack of three dinner plates – 6 pounds

Surprise!  We carry around way more than we think all day long.  No wonder grocery shopping makes me so tired!   

When I go back to work on Wednesday, I’m going to try to figure out the weight of several reference books that I frequently hand out.  Knowledge may be powerful, but it can be heavy too.

3 thoughts on “Weighing In

  1. Tell me about it. How about the weight of four dependents hanging on you. No wonder my back hurts all of the time. And I thought it was our crappy mattress.

  2. Wow, that’s crazy! I can’t believe a gallon of milk weighs almost 10 pounds! I’m in pretty weak shape physically due to my own laziness, but now I’m feeling slightly better about myself. I lift gallons of milk all the time! 😀

Leave a Reply

