The Sociopath in My Passenger Seat

Did I ever tell you how much I love to listen to books on CD?  It’s like therapy to me.  I stick a CD in my player and I am immediately transported to other worlds.

The world that I’m in right now is, quite frankly, scaring the bajeezus out of me.  I’m listening to The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson, which simultaneously tells the stories of the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair and a socio/psychopath named H. H. Holmes, who lived in Chicago at the same time.   

The story of the World’s Fair is bright and cheerful, full of anecdotes about architecture and Chicago city government.  The planning that went into the fair was astounding.

On the flip side, the story of H. H. Holmes (aka Herman Mudgett) is dark, dreary and completely creepy.  His house of horrors (which housed apartments and businesses) and the planning that went into it was something out of a nightmare.  He actually had gas valves installed in some of the rooms as well as a kiln in the basement.  It has been estimated that he killed up to 200 people.  Yikes.

I’m only on disc number five and I’m so creeped out at times that I have to turn on the radio for a breather.  Kind of makes the Blair Witch Project seem not so scary.  

I’m anxious to see how this all turns out but I may have to take frequent breaks in between chapters. 

Who needs Darkly Dreaming Dexter when you’ve got REAL sociopaths to hear about?

Leave a Reply

