Liar Liar Books on Fire

Today on the news I heard a report that states 50% of the men and 30% of the women interviewed for a reading survey admitted that they had lied about books that they hadn’t read.  Seriously, I was shocked. The main reason for lying was for romantic purposes – trying to impress that special someone with their knowledge of literature.

Even though I’m a librarian, I have no shame in telling you all about  books that I haven’t read.  Maybe it comes from the fact that I wasn’t an English lit major, like so many of my co-workers.   Or, maybe it comes from the fact that I simply believe in the power of reading what you’re interested in. 

(Note: If one of my teenage children is reading this post, just remember that this doesn’t apply to your schoolwork.  If you are assigned a book, then you must read it.  Don’t come back to me and tell me that I said it was okay to skip assignments because it’s not).

Here’s some books that weren’t assigned to me, either in high school or in college, and I never got around to reading.

Anything by Ayn Rand (The Fountainhead, Atlas Shrugged) – Not sure that I understand Objectivism.  Not sure that I want to work that hard anymore.

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy – At over 1400 pages, I have to have a good reason to read this.  I don’t have one right now, so I’m skipping it.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte – Talk about drama.  Mismatched lovers, the moors of England and revenge.   I’ll have to put this one on my “to do” list.

As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner –  I really intended to read this last summer.   Couldn’t get past the first few pages and the dead woman on the cover. 

Brave New World by Aldous Huxley – Reading George Orwell’s 1984 made me realize how much I disliked this genre.  Pass.

There.  I said it – I didn’t read the above-listed books.  

Go ahead and tell me books that you never read.  I won’t judge you and it’s very liberating.   As your penance, I will tell you to go to your library and ask the nice, smiling librarian behind the reference desk to recommend something good to read.  It can be anything from mindless smut to the classics.    

Oh, and here’s a little advice.  Don’t lie about what you haven’t read.  If that special someone is that judgemental, they just aren’t worth it.  I’ve got some books suggestions on how to dump him/her as well.   Just let me know.

3 thoughts on “Liar Liar Books on Fire

  1. I haven’t read lots of classic things and I was an English major in undergrad (though education, not lit).

    One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Kesey
    David Copperfield by Dickens
    Of Mice and Men by Steinbeck
    The Time Machine by Wells
    The Scarlet Letter by Hawthorne

    There are plenty more, I’m sure. 🙂

  2. Pingback: classics avoidance at LibrariAnne

  3. There are several classics I’ve tried – really tried! – but have never made it through…

    Robinson Crusoe (a few pages)
    Moby Dick (a few chapters)
    The Diary of Anne Frank (got about halfway)
    War and Peace (almost made it to the end)

    And I hated Catcher in the Rye (ooh, that felt so good!)

Leave a Reply

