…because life’s too short to have ugly underwear

135533404_tp

Here we are on New Year’s Eve 2008, waiting for 2009 to arrive so we can all start fresh.  It’s kind of exciting, isn’t it?

Although I’m not particularly a fan of New Year’s Eve (too tired the next day, don’t really like to drink all that much, wary of amateurs who don’t know how to hold their liquor), I am a fan of the thought of starting a New Year.   A new year is a great time for getting rid of the old, trying new things and fixing those problems that need fixing. 

This year, instead of lofty goals such as the quest for knowledge, I’m going for something very down to earth. I’m going to concentrate on my clothes and particularly my undergarments.  That’s right, I’m talking about my underwear.  I’ve decided that life is too short to have ugly underwear.

I’ve noticed that young women these days are more conscious of what they wear.  They seem to spend more money and time looking good.  I’ve spent the last 15 years just trying to take care of kids while working and the result is that I’ve neglected certain parts of my life.  Like my socks, my underwear and everything hanging in my closet.  I don’t just have mommy jeans, I have mommy wardrobe.

I once heard a story of a woman who was diagnosed with a terminal cancer.  The first thing that she did when she got home was throw out all of her ugly underwear and replace them with new, pretty ones.  She didn’t want to be remembered as someone who harbored icky undies.  I loved that story.  It inspired me.

So, as you ring in the new year, I wish you health, happiness, good fortune and charming undergarments.  You especially don’t want a pair of your nasty drawers falling out of your son’s blanket at daycare in front of the teachers.  Trust me, it can happen.

2 thoughts on “…because life’s too short to have ugly underwear

  1. I spent New Year’s with my best pal from first grade. We split a bottle of wine, watched House (yeah for DVR!) and yes…did bright green facial masks. It was sexy! Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

