Reality Is Painful

newspaper

So, this is the problem with taking time off – it just makes me want to take more.  It’s like an addiction… more time off, more time off, more time off.  Oh, it’s not that I don’t like my job – I really do.  I just like being home and doing nothing better. 

Then I started thinking today about all of the stuff I need to do when the kids go back to school.  Ugh.  Email this teacher, call that teacher, make sure that paperwork gets turned in, schedule that appointment, do this, do that, blah blah blah.  Damn.  It’s all coming back to me now.

As an escape from present reality, I started envisioning our next summer vacation.   Warmer weather, being able to not have to wear 10 layers of clothes (okay, fine, that’s an exaggeration… I wear three layers), sunshine, anti-aging sunblock, daylight for at least 12 hours of the day.  Wow. 

That seemed so far away, so I started envisioning winter break.  That seemed a little more do-able. 

Then, just like the Expedia commercial, I came back to reality.  I’ve got two months to go for that. 

I think I’m going to sneak in tomorrow to work and steal the entire stack of 2009 vacation request slips.  Do you think anyone would notice?

3 thoughts on “Reality Is Painful

  1. Curses – caught by my supervisor, Rebecca. Watch what you say when you blog, folks. You never know who might be reading it.

Leave a Reply

