How NOT To Communicate With Teachers

brick-wall-graffiti-generator

We’ve all read articles about how kids’ academic achievement is affected by their parent’s involvement.  The formula is something like [student effort+parental involvement+10,000 other factors such as a decent school system, etc=success]. 

Here’s my question – what do you do if you, as a parent, cannot communicate with your child’s teachers?  Let me give you two examples:  1.)  I’ve been trying to meet with Youngest Son’s teacher since before the break.  I have emailed her 5 times, three of which were unanswered, and then she never got back with me after the last two.  2.)  I would like to meet with Teenage Daughter’s English teacher and she has 30 minutes to spare for this entire week, in the middle of the day on Wednesday.

I would LOVE to call these teachers but they all made it abundantly clear in the beginning of the year that email is the preferable method of communication.   I really don’t like to get principals involved because I would like to solve problems like a big girl myself, but I think that’s what I’m going to have to do.

I could go on and on but I’ll stop there.  Hell hath no fury like an angry mother.  This could get ugly – I’ll keep you posted.

One thought on “How NOT To Communicate With Teachers

  1. Let me put on one of my old caps…the one that says “Dean of Students” (before my librarian days…)

    Go call the vice principal or the academic counselor. Do it. You have been proactive, you have been nice. I’m gonna stop before I start to rant about education, but just call the top dogs. It’s why they earn the big bucks (I’m not kidding, they make decent money!)!

Leave a Reply

