…I Used to Walk 10 Miles One Way to School…

bart-simpson-generator1

 

Okay, it’s cold here.  Really really cold.  Like -12 degrees with a hideous windchill of -30.  It’s Michigan, it’s winter, it’s the way it is.

My kids’ school has been cancelled due to the inclement weather.  Incidentally, they have no school Monday either.  Coincidence?  I think not…

I’m not saying that it ain’t cold out – it’s bitter and awful.  I just want to know why this cold awareness has come about as of late and didn’t happen when I was growing up. 

I cannot recall one single cancelled school day from my youth due to frigid temperatures.   We had snow days only when there was a foot or more of snow on the ground (this was back in the days of rear wheel drive monster cars too).   I remember going to school bundled up from the freezing temps and the wind. 

In short, I remember going to school in really nasty winter weather.

Is it just me or is my memory fading?  Or, am I just a mean, tough parent?  

It think it’s going to be a long winter.

4 thoughts on “…I Used to Walk 10 Miles One Way to School…

  1. It’s not just you! We never had school off for cold when I was growing up, either! I remember my hair routinely freezing (into permed curls of course) while I waited at the bus stop and we still totally had school.

  2. Back in 1992 or 1993 we had school days off for cold. I distinctly remember being in middle school and…well, there’s a middle school adventure involving frozen snot and a school bus. I’ll spare you.

    You Xers are just tougher that’s all. We millennials, we require the finer things in life…like heat. 😉

  3. We baby-boomers are even tougher yet! I’m right with you, Amy! What REALLY gets to me is how they call school off hours and hours before-hand!

Leave a Reply

