If Your Peanut Butter Isn’t Safe, Who Can You Trust?

my_custom_tin_can1

I just ate an English muffin with Jif peanut butter smeared on half of it.  It was warm, gooey and delicious.  Peanut butter, in my humble opinion, is one of the world’s ultimate comfort foods.

If I don’t blog for the rest of the week you’ll know that I was another casualty in the war on peanut butter.   However, I have been watching this story unfold for the last few weeks and Jif has stuck to its promise that it had nothing to do with the salmonella outbreak that has sickened so many here in the US.

This latest bit of culinary worry is just another example of some of the things happening in the news that I just can’t wrap my brain around.  I can think of some right off the top of my head.

First, people’s pets were dying because some sort of poison was put in their food.  John-Boy Edwards cheated on his wife, Elizabeth, who continues to be treated for her metastatic breast cancer,  Alex Rodriguez took steroids, Michael Phelps smokes pot and now some yahoo company has been selling their peanut products to institutions such as schools and nursing homes, even though they knew the products might be contaminated with salmonella.

Will it ever end?  All of these disappointments and insults to things we all hold sacred – pets, animals, athletes, children and the elderly.  It’s kind of like finding out that your best friend lied to you or someone cheated you. It’s kind of like finding out your grandma really didn’t like you after all.

I’m not saying that an athlete using steroids has the same importance as food being contaminated but I am asking – if you can’t eat peanut butter crackers without getting food poisoning, who can you trust?

One thought on “If Your Peanut Butter Isn’t Safe, Who Can You Trust?

  1. I know! What did peanut butter ever do to anyone? One day it’s the default snack of millions of Americans, the next it’s causing antiphlaxia and full of microbes! This country has gone to hell in a handbasket!

Leave a Reply

