Updates in 50 words or less

Teenage Daughter is currently enjoying the sights and sounds of New York with her class.  Being the hip and cool mom that I am, I sent her a text message asking her how things were going.  It only took me 10 minutes. 

Less than 10 seconds later, I received a reply.  How do their thumbs work so fast?  It’s a mystery to me.  I feel arthritic just thinking about it.

I then received at least 7 text messages, telling me in short, descriptive sentences (I use that term loosely) all about skating at the Rockefeller center, what food they ate and what they’re doing today. 

Amazing.  All that in less than 50 words.  It’s kind of like its own form of poetry.

So, here’s the moment you’ve been waiting for.  How do you translate texting shorthand?  I found an excellent site to do just that. 

Behold – these famous speeches…

Now is the time for all good men to come to the aid of their country. 

Four score and seven years ago our fathers brought forth, upon this continent, a new nation, conceived in Liberty, and dedicated to the proposition that all men are created equal.

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

Become this:

NOW SI DA TIEM FOR AL GOD MAN 2 COM3 2 TEH ADE OF THEYRE COUNTRY!111! LOL
FOUR SCOR3 AND SEV3N Y3ARS AGO OUR FATHERS BROUGHT FORTH UPON THES CONTIENNT A NU NATION CONCEIEVD IN LIEBRTY AND DADICAETD 2 DA PROPOSITION TAHT AL MEN R CR3AETD AQUAL!1!!1111 OMG WTF
WE HOLD THES3 TRUTHS 2 B S3LF-EVIEDNT TAHT AL MEN R CR3AETD EQUAL TAHT THEY R 3NDOW3D BY THERE CREA2R WIT C3RTANE UNALEINABL3 RIGHTS TAHT MONG THASE R LIEF LIEBRTY AND TEH PURSUIT OF HAPIENS
!!1111 OMG

U r welcum

3 thoughts on “Updates in 50 words or less

  1. Glad she’s having a good time! Isn’t it crazy how fast they can text?! Although I’m getting pretty good at it myself!

  2. You will laugh–I am home working on my paper (thanks to crazy shooter guy in Belleville) and was using reading your blog as a “treat” for myself. Once I had gotten through the population & sample and data collection & analysis sections, i was “letting” myself go and read your blog. I’m glad Rachel is having fun. You would not believe how much kids text in school. They think they are slick, but you can see them doing it while you are teaching. Then you have to decide if you want to call them out on it (and frankly, who really does?) Yay for skating in Rockefeller Ctr.

Leave a Reply

