Full Circle

Amy & John prom

I was recently looking at my sister-in-law’s Facebook page and admiring the pictures that she posted of my niece and her friend at his prom.   Her dress and his tux matched perfectly and they looked like an adorable pair.  

Ah, the beauty of youth.  It’s definitely wasted on the young, who have no idea how fleeting time is.

I was taken back to the pictures that my parents took over the years of me and my dance dates.  In my mind, I can clearly see a picture taken before the Homecoming dance in 1982, when I was a sophomore in high school.  I was wearing a cream Gunne Sax dress with a high collar and my hair was pulled up into a bun.  My date was wearing a tan corduroy suit with a single rose pinned to the lapel.  If music were playing in the background, it might have been Christopher Cross or something from Air Supply.

This might have been just one more of those nostalgic pictures from bygone days.  That is, except for the fact that it’s the very first snapshot of my husband and me together.   If you’ve done the math correctly, we were both 15 years old.

We didn’t start dating “steady” (Is that still a dating term?  I truly have no idea..) until we were high school seniors but by now you’ve got an idea of how long I’ve known Banker Husband, who at that point was Teenage Boyfriend. 

I then let my mind connect other dots such as, “Gosh, my son is 16 years old and is a sophomore in high school. When I was his age, I had already gone on a date with my husband.” 

Seriously – were we really that young?

This isn’t a post regarding my regrets in life and how I wish that things had turned out differently.  Quite the contrary, I am very happy with how things turned out and I STILL, to this day, think of my husband as my very best friend. 

The interesting thing is remembering him as a teenager, now that our son is that same age.  Some women tell me stories of their husbands in their youth, either recounted by them or another family member, but I don’t have to have people share stories with me because I was there. 

I know how messy his bedroom was, how he dressed and what sorts of things he did for fun.  I know the classes he took in high school and what music he liked.

Now when I look at my adolescent son, it puts it all in perspective.  We were  that young.

Eldest Son tells me that he’s not interested in getting married someday and having a family.  He’s planning on getting his Ph.D. and becoming a scientist.  I just tell him never say never. 

I never would have thought that I might marry my high school sweetheart and have the luck and joy of telling my teenage son to keep his options open.  Life is like that – you just never know, do you?

4 thoughts on “Full Circle

  1. Love the photo, the fact that your husband is your best friend, and you telling Matt “never say never.” Got a little misty reading this one!

  2. So, is that a birthmark, a shadow, or a black eye being sported by that young man? Geez, I never thought you were a beater Ames. 😉

    • Well, it’s actually a black eye. The week before, John got punched out while in the school hallway. Hmmm… would have sounded more interesting if I had told you that I punched him out.

Leave a Reply

