Sex, Drugs and Reference Work

man-phone-booth_~POP047

“I need advice about drugs and sex.  If I can just call the library, they’ll know what to do!”

Over the years, I have heard many comments about my choice of career.  “You don’t look like a librarian”, “You must really like books”, and “It must be so nice and quiet for you at work” all come to mind. 

I’m going to set the record straight once and for all.  That place is a zoo. 

This week was a full moon week, upping the ante for wild and crazy behavior.  Behold…

Things started out very strange when one of my co-workers got a call from a man whose step-daughter was in the next room having sex.  He and his wife didn’t know what to do about it.  Guess those sex instruction books weren’t going to do much good for that young woman at that point.  Apparently, she figured it all out.

I was just shocked to think that this guy’s first thought was to call the library.  What does that say about us?  I was just glad that I didn’t answer the phone.

Next was the guy who wanted a book about pick-up artists.   While I was busy trying to find the correct title, he commented that he liked my hair.  My hair.  Okay.  The irony wasn’t lost on me. 

Went to lunch wondering what the heck was going on and came back to hear about a man who called in wanting to locate marijuana seed suppliers’ numbers.  I’m just certain that this was for medicinal purposes.

Meanwhile, the security guard was accused of being a pedophile because he told a patron to watch his four year old who was running around unattended. 

Finally, we found a used hypodermic needle, just because things hadn’t been weird enough.  Don’t see that sort of thing everyday.

No, I am NOT kidding and I did not imagine all this.  How could you make this stuff up? 

Can’t wait ’til next week.  Never a dull moment. 

And you thought my job was boring…

7 thoughts on “Sex, Drugs and Reference Work

  1. Okay, I see what you mean. That’s insane.

    I once overheard my co-worker as she answered a phone call from a person who wanted to become a phone sex operator. That was…interesting. You can’t get books about phone sex through interlibrary loan, it turns out!

    • How did I choose to be a librarian, or the zoo employee that I’ve become? Let’s see… when I was a sophomore at Michigan State University, I spent HOURS at the library studying. I became really good at researching term papers (this is before the Internet, when databases were just starting to exist, but nothing to the extent of today) and I decided that I wanted to be a librarian. It took me ten years to go back to school to get my library degree (had two kids, a husband and a house, so decided to wait). The atmosphere of the library I work at is NOTHING like my undergrad experience with libraries.

Leave a Reply

