The Ghosts of School Supplies Past

crayons

Over the years I’ve realized that my internal calendar goes from September to June and not January to December.  So, September is the start of my new year, and a fresh new start. 

One of the most exciting things about going back to school is buying new school supplies.  I love going to Target and looking at all of the bins of new pens, pencils, paper and other writing utensils.   Bin after bin of bright, shiny boxes.  It’s intoxicating.

I happen to be very partial to crayons.  There is something about opening a new box of crayons and finding them all perfect in their happy, little box.  The tips are flat, their papers unblemished and they are hopefully waiting for you to color with them.  

If crayons could talk, they would tell you why you should choose their particular color.  If I start talking to crayons, you have every right to leave me a comment that says I’m a few Crayolas short of a full box.

My crayon obsession became obvious this past week when Youngest Son decided that he wanted to draw me a picture.  He was particularly interested in using Sharpies (anyone want to explain my kids’ obsession with colored markers?) and crayons.

So, I went looking for the supplies of school years past.  I found them.  That would include six bins of crayons, colored pencils, dried out markers and some stuff that resembled dried Play-Doh. 

It appears that I’ve never required my children to re-use anything from year to year.  That’s a whole lot of leftover stuff. 

I looked at Youngest Son and the huge mess that I brought up from the basement and declared how silly this all was.  Why I keep buying new school supplies every year was just beyond me and I needed to change my ways.  What was I thinking?

This year was going to be different, I vowed.  I was going to go through this mess, throw out the broken crayons and dried out markers.  We were going to be wise and thrifty.  Reduce, re-use, recycle.  I rock.

I was feeling pretty good about my “green” self when I found a Target bag sitting in the laundry room.  In it were three brand new boxes of crayons and some Sharpies.  It was all coming back to me… Target had them on sale for $.20 a pack.  Just thought I’d pick up a few of them at that price. 

You know, just in case we didn’t have enough.

2 thoughts on “The Ghosts of School Supplies Past

  1. don’t throw the old broken ones out!! Melt them down, put them in muffin tin, and make new, round crayons. Mix your colors and you get some cool stuff.

Leave a Reply

