Post #251; In Which Amy Decides To Go Back To School

chalkboard

Ten years ago, I put on a cap and gown and graduated from library school.  I remember, as if it were yesterday, when I said, “I am NEVER going back to school again.”  I really should take my own advice because I’ve told my kids to never say never – it’s a very long time.

So, I’ve decided to go back to my library school and take more classes.  A different angle (records and information management), a different goal (certificate) and a different method (on-line classes) this time around will make for a very interesting semester.

It’s also a different time in my life.  Ten years is a long time and things have changed, including an additional kid.  So, here are some observations so far that I thought I’d share with you. 

1.  College is really, really expensive.  Really.  I’m going to a state university and not a private school and I still couldn’t believe my bill. 

2.  The office staff at the library school, comprised of graduate students, are never going to get jobs as helpful librarians unless they change their attitude.

3.  I had to pass three technology tests and I still don’t feel like I know what I’m doing.

4.  I really hate homework and it stresses me out.

5.  I’m feeling old.

6.  My kids need to learn how to cook.  Something more than microwave popcorn and grilled cheese. Even the 7 year old.

8.  I may need to blog less (insert cry of disbelief and sorrow here). 

9.   I need to remember that I am not working towards being a Rhodes scholar, I need to learn a new skill and that’s all.

10.  I once read that children who see their parents study make better students themselves.  No, I’m not sure if I believe that either but I need to make myself feel less guilty so I thought I’d throw that out there.

Can you tell I’m apprehensive?  Yeah, I know… things always work out in the end.  You’re right, of course. 

Never mind about #8 above – I’ll keep you posted throughout this whole semester.

7 thoughts on “Post #251; In Which Amy Decides To Go Back To School

  1. I’m holding you to your promise to disregard #8 – because I really love your blog and I really did insert a cry of disbelief and sorrow when I read it!

  2. Wow, Amy, this is so cool! I had no idea! I need to learn more about what it is that you’re specifically studying – remind me to ask you about it sometime. Congrats and cheers to you!

  3. Oh my goodness – but you get to buy NEW SCHOOL SUPPLIES! Binders! Pens! We can get you a trapper keeper! But I can’t imagine you with a backpack.

    Let me know how the kids cooking comes along. Maybe they can give me some tips.

  4. Okay, I’ve learned you can’t take back what you said and/or edit incorrect sentences. What I meant to say was: ‘Good Luck, Amy! Kudos to you for looking ahead and taking control of your life.’

Leave a Reply

