Doggie Bloggie

Hi – it’s me, JoJo.  Amy has been neglecting her blog lately and I decided to take matters into my own paws and be her guest blogger.  I’m thinking of calling this a “dog blog”.  (I’m also very clever – not just another pretty furry face). 

This blogging stuff is challenging because I don’t have opposable thumbs and I need to take frequent bark breaks.   You never know who’s going to walk by the front window.

In case you don’t know me, here’s a mug shot for you:
JoJo mug

This was taken a few years back and I’m not quite so scruffy these days.  I was practicing for my license photo when I realized that dogs don’t drive.  In fact, the only place I go in Amy’s car is to that “vet” building where they try to talk nicely to me while sticking me in the butt with some sharp instrument.  I swear that I’m going to revolt and refuse to take that crap anymore, but I forget between visits why I hate it there. 

Anyhow, Amy has always been a little squirrely but she’s especially distracted these days.  She hasn’t been feeling great and has been known to lie on the floor lately, which I especially like.  She also has a lot of homework and housework.  I know all this because she has a running dialogue with me all day long.  Her teenage daughter said that it’s strange to talk to dogs, but I don’t mind.  We all have our quirks.  I personally like to chase cars, so who am I to judge?

Anyhow, while we’re waiting for Amy to get her stuff together and become clever once more, I thought I’d give you a recommendation of my own.  It’s a book called The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein.  It’s told in first dog by Enzo, a very wise lab-terrier mix.  You just gotta love books about dogs of mixed lab background.   Although I found some of the human characters in this book to be so annoying that I wanted to pee on them, I generally enjoyed it.

I’m off now – I’ve got a fence that needs watching and there are lots of people to bark at.  I’ll leave you with one of my very favorite cartoons, with many thanks to Gary Larson.

FarSide-CatFud-thumb-400x475-6885

Wishing you a tummy-rub happy day. 

JoJo

paw_print_declawed_m

4 thoughts on “Doggie Bloggie

  1. A hearty arf in thanks for this fine blog JoJo. You were a funny distraction from my work today.
    P.S. Don’t let Cassee know I was talking to a dog, she might not forgive me.

  2. Hi Jojo! I was reading from Mom’s lap and thought you might like another book told in first dog, Dog on it by Spencer Quinn. My Mom has 4 of us cats and talks to all of us and, of course, we talk back. She just has a bit of trouble sometimes understanding us sometimes, but we just walk right in front of her repeating things until she understands or trips.

Leave a Reply

