Thanks Giving

It’s that time again – turkey, football and gratitude, not necessarily in that order.   

It is, hands down, my favorite holiday.  I love it.  I love the planning, the decorations, the family and the food.   I love the history of it too.  I visited Plimoth Plantation as a young girl and I’ve never forgotten it.  Never mind that there are disputes regarding how the whole thing went down, the pilgrims were thankful to be alive (that is, what was left of them after the first winter) and that’s good enough for me.

So, since I happen to like lists, here’s my “I am truly thankful for…” run down for this year.

I Am Thankful For:

My Family:  They make me tired.  They make me worried. They give me much to blog about.  I wouldn’t know what to do without them.  Here’s to Banker Husband, Eldest Son, Teenage Daughter and Youngest Son, my beautiful family.  Sometimes I wonder how one wife and mom could be so lucky.

I’m also the proud daughter of two loving parents, middle sister to two fine brothers, adoring aunt of 11 fabulous nieces and nephews, sister-in-law to six sister-in-laws and four brother-in-laws.  Plus, I’m the daughter-in-law extraordinaire to my husband’s parents.  What a clan. 

My BFF J – Having a best friend for 30 years is truly a blessing from above.

My dog JoJo – God made dogs to make up for all of the evil in the world.  They are angels on earth. 

The Current Recession:  Don’t get me wrong – recessions suck.  I am certainly not happy about all of the job losses and foreclosures that have happened. People have been devastated and it’s going to take some time to recover. 

However, for myself, it’s been a wake-up call.   I pay way more attention to coupons and comparative shopping now.  I have a strict budget and I try to stick with it.  Kroger and Target fear me as a card-carrying, coupon clipping consumer.  I am saving, hear me roar.

Lysol Wipes: Good for wiping up after non-female people who have bad aim and for some who think it’s okay to come to the library with the H1N1 virus.  ‘Nuf said.

Cell Phones: Say what you want about them but it’s the only way that I can guarantee that someone can reach me.  Plus, I can call my kids on their phones and get more out of them than I would face to face.  Go figure. 

My husband’s laptop:  As I blogged about previously, I went back to school this semester.  I have spent hours on the Blackboard site that my school has for online classes and I don’t know what I would have done without this computer.  I’m waiting for the day that it greets me like HAL 9000 in 2001: A Space Odyssey.  Speaking of my school…

Wayne State University: I earned my library degree from WSU ten years ago and now I’m going to earn a Records and Information Management certificate from them.  In the middle of one of the saddest cities in the United States sits a university that helps people with their futures.  Seems kind of ironic to me.

Caffeine: Coffee, tea, pop – doesn’t matter.  I’m just happy that it’s part of my life.  It makes me a nicer person.

Wishing you the happiest Thanksgiving ever.  May you have yummy food, loving family, good friends and a grateful heart.

Leave a Reply

