Picture This

 

Helloooooo???   Is this thing on? 

First, an apology.  In two years, I haven’t taken this much time off from WordPress.  I have had so much to talk about and no time to share it.  Let’s pretend that I never took a month off from blogging and get right back to business.  I have some stuff to talk about. 

Take Easter, for example.  My dad had just gotten out of the hospital after a very serious brain hemorrhage that landed him first in the ICU.   Miraculously, he was able to celebrate with us.  My youngest nephew was there, chubby cheeked and adorable, celebrating his first Easter.  My mom had set the table with the cutest bunnies and chicks that I had ever seen.  And a good time was had by all. 

You might ask – why are you describing this scene when you could just display a digital photo? 

That, my friend, is the problem.  I didn’t take any pictures that day.  Nope, not a single one. 

In fact, I didn’t take any pictures of my nephew’s baptism, where my husband and I were honored as the godparents, nor on Easter, nor any other event since.   Zero. 

It’s not like I didn’t bring my camera with me to these events, because I did.  It just sat lamely in my purse, unused and unloved.  There is definitely something wrong with this situation, I admit it. 

I know women who can fill up an entire camera memory card with one event.   These are the same people who can create a scrapbook page to rival a museum work of art.  These pages make even the most mundane days seems like a life-changing event.  Their offsprings’ childhoods will forever be immortalized by their handiwork. 

I myself am working towards this goal.  I have gotten all the way through Eldest Son’s 2nd year in his scrapbook.  Gosh, and not a moment too soon since he’ll be 18 next year.   Then I can start the other two books and by then all three of my kids will be grown and out of the house.

Maybe there’s some sort of genetic link here, one that I missed out on.  Maybe it’s just Lame Camera Syndrome.  Whatever the problem is, I need to fix it.  I’ve also experienced the “I Cannot Remember Anything” syndrome lately, and I need visual reminders. 

You know the saying “A picture is worth a thousand words”?  True, that.  Unless you’re blogging, of course.  411 words later, and still no pictures.

6 thoughts on “Picture This

  1. Interestingly, I wish I had adopted a “less is more” credo a long time ago. Much like gravestones, photos and papers and documents – and now tapes & DVDs and flash drives hard drives – sentimentality can so easily become the albatross around our neck. “Stuff” anchors future generations with guilt; decisions must be made – who will attend to The Precious once everyone in the faded photos is long gone? Is it cold-hearted to sell family memories on ebay, old postcards and greeting cards with penny stamps, photographs with fancy frames?

    Who goes back to revisit the kindergarten report cards or the high school art projects?

    Can you tell I’m contemplating a whole household move? If I could go back and do it again I’d be more selective about what is truly cherished and what is contributing to my state of chaos – both in the physical world and mentally.

  2. Okay so I take tons of photos and I actually scrap a lot of them too but I have still not gotten my Blog started, despite a rabid desire to do so. So Amy, I think we’re even. lol I still intend to hit you up for pointers and assistance when I do get around to starting that blog!

Leave a Reply

