Where Angels Fear To Drive

  

There are quite a few students, and therefore, parents at Youngest Son’s school.  I don’t know all that many, but the ones I do know all seem like nice people.  They appear to be kind and helpful, always willing to volunteer, bake something or go on field trips.  However, I’ve noticed that even the nicest people have something in common in the morning during the morning drop-off .  They become Psycho Parents.

Just last week I was trying to see around an especially large van while backing out of my parking space.   As I was inching my way out, a very large SUV came  barreling down the street and I had to slam on my brakes to avoid being smashed.  The driver, a harried mother with young children in the backseat, didn’t even see me. 

This came on the heels of another driver idling directly behind my car, watching his child walk across the bus circle to wait by the school.  I have no qualms with making sure your child reaches safety, but it’s always polite not to block other people while doing it. 

To be fair, things have improved at Youngest Son’s school in the past two years.  When he first started there, the school had a different principal.  After that principal moved to another job his replacement took one look at the chaos outside the school and decided to take action. 

By “action” I mean blocking off the bus loop so parents, who had politely been told at least 50 times that they couldn’t drop off in the bus zones, could not block the buses.  That lead to one very eventful morning with an angry father yelling at the bus loop monitor (yes, there is such a thing) in front of God, young children and other parents, because he had to park and walk his child up to the school.  Seriously.  Talk about “Daddies Behaving Badly”. 

I do realize that getting children up and ready for school in the morning can be stressful.  I know that running late sucks and we’re all stressed and in a super hurry.  However, the elementary school parking lot is one place that it really does pay to act like a grown up.

I think that the school staff has taken some abuse for the parking lot crackdown.  One morning, as I was dropping Youngest Son off in the back of the school, I saw that one of the secretaries was monitoring parents who decide that they are über important and can park their car in the drop-off circle.   Glad to see her dealing with rude, self-important people, I rolled down my window to thank her.  I could see that was bracing herself for a torrent of Mommy Anger but when I told her that she was awesome, she gave me a big relieved smile.   

No,  I save my righteous anger for the fools who double park next to me while I’m picking up Youngest Son in the afternoon.  One of these days I may have to set one of them straight.  I’ll try not to act too terribly psychotic – promise.

4 thoughts on “Where Angels Fear To Drive

  1. Your scenario is true at my son’s school as well. Ya think parents wouldn’t need supervision to drive safely, especially on school property. I see drivers blow pass buses and speed thru subdivisions. We live in a rude world.

  2. I quake in terror when I have to drop my son off in the drop off lanes they set up at his school. There seems to be no rhyme or reason to where people pull up to stop, nor to how they zoom off down the lane past your open doors once THEIR child is safely on the sidewalk. All in all, I’d rather pull in the parking lot and walk him to the door.

  3. Just this morning I watched a parent do u-turn in the rain in front of the school at top speed. I am shocked there aren’t more accidents in front of schools.

  4. Love the picture! BTW – 100 years ago when I was in elementary school, we walked (through the snow, uphill both ways, with no shoes!)! My mother never had to deal with what you go through…

Leave a Reply

