Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

There is much to tell.  I am now the mother of a high school senior, a high school sophomore and a 3rd grader.  It is all happening too fast.  They’re all growing up so quickly – I feel the need to scream, “STOP THE TRAIN!!!!!!” Alas, I am not in control of this at all.

In other news, I have discovered age spots on my face.  This, on the other hand, is something that I do have control over and I refuse to allow it to happen.  The Clinique associate is going to become my new best friend.  I’m thinking of buying her lunch if she can come up with a magic cream to stop this from progressing.

In the midst of all these life changing events – how about a book review? 

Good Omens: the Nice and Accurate Prophesies of Agnes Nutter, Witch  is one of the funniest books that I have ever read (actually, I listened to it).  I’m talking “laughing-out- loud-while-you’re-walking-your-dog-and-listening-to-your-MP3-player-so-that-your-neighbors-think-you’re-strange” funny.   The kind of book that, when you read it in bed, your shoulders start shaking because you’re trying to stifle a laugh and not wake your spouse.  It’s really that good. 

The Anti-Christ has been misplaced (actually, switched at birth) and it’s a darn shame because, while he was living the life of a normal British boy, he learned to actually love the human race and enjoy life on earth.  That’s bad news because both Heaven and Hell were hoping for a bang-up end-of-the-world war.   The demon, Crowley, and the angel, Aziraphale, friends throughout their stay here on earth for the past 4,000 years, finally find young Adam Young, but it’s almost too late.  Armageddon is about to begin and, you’d better look busy, because God is coming and he isn’t happy. 

The end of the world is a colorful affair in Good Omens.  It’s kind of like a storm that blows in all sorts of characters including the four Horsemen of the Apocalypse including War, Death, Famine and Pollution (Pestilence having retired), who rode motorcycles instead of horses.  Also included are the relative of a long dead witch (Agnes Nutter) whose nice and accurate prophesies have proven true century after century, witch finders, elderly hookers, the military, a gang of eleven year old children and a hound of hell named, (what else ?), Dog.  Who knew the end could be so much fun? 

What happens, however, when the anti-Christ decides that he rather enjoys humanity and, quite frankly, isn’t terribly keen on blowing the world to smithereens?  As with all of my book reviews, you’re just going to have to read the book and find out – I’m not spilling the ending. 

Let me just share with you one part.  When a group of bikers decided to join Death, War, Famine and Pollution and name themselves “Grievous Bodily Harm”, “Cruelty to Animals”, “Things Not Working Properly
Even After You’ve Given Them A Good Thumping”  and “Embarrassing Personal Problems”, I started laughing so hard that I startled my dog.   

Since my book reviews tend to somehow tick some readers off, I’d like to just remind everyone out there who thinks that this sort of book is blasphemy that it’s first and foremost FICTION.  Satirical fiction, at that.  In fact, it did help to have a working knowledge of the Bible to catch all of the allusions.  So, please don’t comment that you’re going to pray for me because I’m not a good Christian. 

You could, instead, pray that my age spots go away and that I make it through Eldest Son’s senior year in high school.  It’s going to be a helluva time.  (Get it?)

6 thoughts on “Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

  1. I cannot overstate how much I love this book. The thing I love most is that it manages to make the reader feel really smart at the same time as it cracks you up to no end. So well done.

  2. You don’t tick me off…you crack me up – always! Now I need to add another book to my “want to read list”! I’ll pray about those age spots and your survival through eldest son’s senior year!

  3. Make friends with the age spots…they are probably here to stay!
    I have become quite attached to mine…and the wrinkles and the cellulite and the droopy everything!!!
    LOVE Terry Pratchett…have nearly all his books…must go back and read that one again.

    • Glad you commented. Realized that I left poor Terry off as a co-author and rectified immediately. They’re both brilliant, IMHO!!

Leave a Reply

