Let’s (Not) Make-up

I’m noticing a social trend in women lately and I wanted to share my very unscientific findings with all of you.  I’m thinking that I am seeing less and less makeup on women.  Lots of women, to be more specific.  No mascara, no eyeliner, no foundation or blush.  Nothing. 

Part of me understands this trend.  I gave up wearing blush many years ago.  I was tired of looking like I had a fever or just ran two blocks.  Do you remember the blush trend from the 80’s?  Having two streaks of crimson (or a very earthy looking brown) powder on ones face is definitely not natural.  I wasn’t sorry to see that go by the wayside.

Speaking of 1980’s style blush, how about 1980’s eyeshadow?  Let me see if I remember the directions…  lighter color on lid, dark color in the crease, pale color on the brow bone = itchy eyes all day long.   Nope, gave that up too.  I ended up with more color on my fingers than on my eyes.  By the end of the day I looked like I had been on some sort of bender.  Eyeshadow around the eyes just makes one look like an extra in Night of the Living Dead.

Although I think that red lips a la the 1950’s are very sexy, I tend to chew lipstick off.  Literally.  One minute it’s there and the next time I look in the mirror I have multicolored teeth and my lips are as pale as usual.  My sister-in-law insists that buying one little tube of lipstick will cure any shopping need that you might have.  I’m going to have to take her word on this one.  I don’t think that there’s any nutritional value to lipstick so I’m going to pass.

Despite all this, there is no way that I’m going to give up my mascara and eyeliner.  I’ve read about women looking “fresh-faced” and “youthful” without eye makeup.  However, I think “tired” and “sickly” are better descriptors for me.  In fact, I was so distressed that L’Oreal stopped making my favorite eyeliner color that I went to four different stores and tried three new brands.  There will be no “fresh-faced” eyes in my future. 

Just be kind and let me know if I start looking like Elvira (see photo above).  That’s where I draw the (pencil) line.