Hospitality Under the Influence

I have had a to-do list for about a year now that including mundane and painful things like paint the trim, wash all of the sunroom windows, vacuum behind furniture, clean the top of the refrigerator, etc.  I am happy to report that they have magically all been completed and it’s because… I’m having a party Friday! 

I’d like to thank each and every one of the members in my department at the library for giving me the motivation to complete my tasks so that they didn’t have to come and see my tired looking, trashy house. 

Of course, there are other ways to throw a party that don’t involve massive amounts of effort.  One of my friends said to light candles and dim the lights.  You can also serve large amounts of alcohol.  Either way, people won’t notice your imperfections. 

Erma Bombeck, one of my very favorite writers once said in her essay, “If I Had to Live My Life Over Again…”  “I would have invited friends over to dinner even if the carpet was stained, or the sofa faded.”  Okay, fine.  I won’t have the carpet cleaned.  I’m still happy that I painted the trim.  Cheers!